Welcome to UpCloud! This post will bring you up to speed on the basics and get you started on your trial. During your free trial period, you have the option to test our service with no commitment for 72 hours after activating your account. To upgrade your account for full access, see our guide about adding balance to your account for more details.
Begin by logging into your UpCloud control panel at hub.upcloud.com. Let’s go through the main views and see what you can do about them. We will link to more in-depth articles on each main view so you can jump into a specific topic if you feel like it.
When logging in, the first view you will see is the Servers list. This is where you manage your servers and deploy new ones. To get right into the action, take look at our guide on how to deploy a server. You can also read about managing servers to get an idea of what else you can do with your cloud servers.
During a trial, the deployable servers are limited to 1 instance at a time with 1CPU / 1GB / 25GB MaxIOPS. At the end of your 72-hour trial, any server you have deployed will be automatically removed when your trial expires. To continue using your server past the initial period, upgrade your account for full access by adding balance to your account.
In the Storage view, you can manage your storage devices, create templates out of existing storage, delete storage, and manage backups or templates. For more information, check out our guide about managing storage devices to help with many storage operations.
During the trial, some of these features are locked as you are limited to 25GB of storage capacity.
This section contains information about your server’s IP addresses. Each server can have 0-5 public IP addresses and one private IP address. The private IP addresses are only accessible to servers within the same UpCloud account. This way your UpCloud servers form a secure private network.
By clicking the pencil icon, you can edit the reverse DNS name straight from the list. Note that other server IP address settings are managed in the server-specific settings. See our guides about managing servers and managing network settings for more details.
In the People view, you can create and manage additional user accounts to share access to the control panel or set up API access. Each sub-account has its own username and password and can be configured independently for the server, storage, control panel, and API privileges.
By clicking the Add button, you can create new user accounts to allow your whole team to work together efficiently and securely.
The Usage page is where you’ll find the breakdown of the daily usage reports. It allows you to keep track of your daily spending on resources with monthly history reports.
You can view your account details by clicking your username or portrait image and selecting Account.
In this area, you can find your account information such as contact details, account balance, and security settings. You can read more about billing and how to upgrade your account by adding balance to your account.
Here is also where you can store your personal SSH keys and initialization scripts that are then available at the server deployment. We have written further instructions on how to use SSH keys for authentication, manage your SSH keys, and how to use initialization scripts.
That is all!
Infrastructure as a service does not get easier than this. Continue to the follow-up guide on how to deploy a server to start testing the world’s fastest cloud!